Tutorial with Davida

Prior to this tutorial I was in a real difficult period in terms of how to take my work forward. I was in a state of mind that kept producing work but I now had to focus on my final degree show and what exactly I was going to produce.

I felt I knew for the most part as I had decided that I was going to produce three large scale pieces on paper and exhibit at least two if not all three. Therefore I did not need any direction in terms of what I was going to produce but rather some suggestion of how to improve my painting.

One artist that she advised me to look at was Martin Maloney, here is an example of his work below.

On first glance these are paintings that would not initially interest me, but I do appreciate them considering that the paintings carry a sense of innocence and childishness in how they are painted. This is something I want to convey in my work however I am using much more controversial and corrupt imagery.

Leave a Reply

