London Trip- Marlene Dumas Exhibition

In February I travelled to London with the univeristy to visit art galleries. One exhibition that was of particular interest was the Dumas show in the Tate Modern. Marlen Dumas is an artist I have always interested in terms of her painting style, however I wasn’t entirely aware that so much of her work related to mine. The first piece that was of particular importance was “Evil is Banal.”

evil-banal

“Dumas often uses surprising titles for her paintings as a way to allude to subjects that are not overtly present in the image. This is especially effective in her self-portrait ‘Evil is Banal’, which is a reference to Hannah Arendt’s text on the trial of a Nazi officer and the Holocaust. Here the gestural larger-than-life portrait of a woman becomes something more ambiguous, an expression of a psychological state of mind or concept.”

This painting is very much a representation of the evilness one can create, which relates to my work. This piece is extremely successful because it doesn’t appear evil, much like the work of other artists I have looked at the evil is very much normalised. This is still a part of my work that i criticise, I feel I need to be more bold in the normalisation of my work. This piece still carries this sinister quality while not appearing classically evil. I feel this piece will be a huge influence for my future work. Also perhaps portraiture is a route I should redisover.

Leave a Reply

