Tutorial

This tutorial came at a point when I was in need of some direction. After I told her about my work she started focusing on the upsetting nature of my work rather than the evil. She suggested going looking into morgues and even visiting one. After telling her about my Tuymans influence she also suggested looking more at environments, for example the scene after road side accidents in which flowers are laid as a mark of rememberance. Along with this she also suggested a number of artists to look at, the first being Diane Arbus.

diane-arbus-patriotic

Arbus is an artist who portrays people in a way that isn’t normally publicised by society. This in a sense is what I am trying to achieve within my work. When describing my work I alway suggest how I want to portray something that people don’t necessarily want to see or relate to. Arbus does this in a very obvious way.

Another artist that she suggested was Goya and his work entitled “Distasters of War.” This series of work has been recommended to me before and it is of particular relevance to me as I am referring to it in my dissertation when discussing art of the past and its relation and portrayal of evil.

These very powerful etchings are revealing the truth in a way, a sight that viewers are reluctant to see. Another Goya piece that I was advised to look at is the “The Execution of Emperor Maximilian.

thirdofmay

The tutor said I should be repainting paintings. This is something that I previously stayed away from but she said it would be a good way to experiment. For instance, the Chapman Brothers done it with Goya’s etchings.

I was also advised to read more literature and view more movies, one that was recommended was “The Village.”

Along with this she said I should look still life artists

A recommendation that I will be definitely looking at is the use of propaganda posters. This is something I have briefly looked at in Second and she said I should paint propaganda posters with my painterly style. Overall this was a worthwhile tutorial and has given me a new sense of motivation.

Leave a Reply

