Painting Subject Matter On A Much Larger Scale

The next step was to start my much larger scaled image of this Nazi youth photograph. I again chose to work on paper, I just feel it gives me more a sense of freedom. This is the largest piece I have worked on in quite a while so it was vital I adapted. The first step of my painting was to simply layer the page with areas of think and thin oil paint. After this was done, I had to draw out the main front row characters, and eventually I started painting them. At this stage I felt it was right to give these figure quite a bit of detail as the outcome of these characters would determine the formation of my background. After this stage I started the mark makings which would suggest the illusion of the crowd once my final layers have been completed. Here is the piece at the mid-point stage below.

IMG_0835

Overall I am happy with the current progress.

IMG_0833

These are the two main figures, hence why they are painted so boldly compared to the rest.

IMG_0834

And these are the remaining figures from the front row, although they are less powerful they are very important in portraying this evil element of the piece.

Leave a Reply

