Whitecapel Gallery- Summer Exhibition

In early September I visited the Whitecapel gallery in order to get some inspiration for the upcoming year. My ideas hadn’t differed two much from second year as I was sure of what I wanted my dissertation to be and hopefully my studio practice would grow with my dissertation. The one artsit of particular interest to me was Giulio Paolini. His work is as seen below.

Giulio-Paolini-Delfo-1965

This painting ‘Young Man Looking at Lorenzo Lotto’ reminded me of my work last year surrounding the panopticon, and the whole notion of being seen without seeing. Also although this piece is painted it has a photograpic feel to it. Another thing Paolini uses to complement the paint work is photo emulsion. Photo emulsion is something I used last year however it was just sketcbook work I would like to explore further with this.

Leave a Reply

