Change of Subject Matter

I wanted to change the direction of my work on some level. With the introduction of the hypnotic symbol I want to shift my idea of a calming piece and transform it into a piece that conceals something, a form of brainwashing some could say. I want to have something that is quite off putting and grotesque, however the hypnotic symbols underneath still pull you in. I have chosen to go with an album cover I found on the internet. What attracted to me was this horrifying visual element and this aggressive statement, ‘smash your head against the wall.’  It reminded me of subliminal messaging and this is something I am interested in and something that has influenced me with this upcoming piece.

 

Leave a Reply

