Venice- Gallery Visits

During a trip to Venice I took advantage of the art scene by making a few gallery visits. The first was to Galleria D’ Arte Totem Il Canale, which was where I came across this piece below. This painting by Francois Bonjour reminded of the panopticon ideal with its inscribed glass frame that suggested some kind of enclosure. The words on the glass reminded me of a prison in itself. The underlying painting almost is preserved with the glass or rather contained. The use of glass is something I want to use in my work, perhaps I could paint on numerous transparent slates and line them up together in order to produce one whole image relating to a panopticon society.

IMG_0583

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

