Newgate Prison Drawing

D2011-BTL-0127-4046

This photo is of capital punishment being being practiced at the Newgate prison. These illustrations are particularly interesting, below I have produced a painted study.

IMG_0684

 

In this piece I have taken a very limited approach. I want the scene to be subtle yet overpowering. I feel I can accomplished this to some degree.

This is another image I found during an exercise session. The face masks that the prisoners are wearing seem ridiculous, I wanted to depict this in a painted study.

millbank

 

IMG_0683

In this painting I want to represent an equalness between all the figures with this diluted black markings. I wanted the posture and stance of the figures to suggests there roles or rather there prison status as guard or prisoner. I feel this difference is quite clear.

Leave a Reply

