Development of painting

 

 

The next step of this painting was to start blocking out the sections of the portrait. When I normally paint a portrait I draw the features first, however this wasn’t the case her. I felt the piece would seem more elusive if I just created the features with the layering of paint. I don’t feel the features are particularly important in this piece it is more about the strength of the colour and suggestion of certain shapes.

IMG_0335

 

 

At this stage I knew the proportions of the subject were wrong, the glasses were two large and the distance between the glasses, the nose and the mouth was two wide. I adjusted these in the image below. This was done by layering on upon the previous layer.

IMG_0339

At this point the subject is starting to appear, this is the building stage, where the portrait comes to the surface in a sense.

 

 

Leave a Reply

