Polystyrene mannequin heads

I wanted to act on this idea, however I altered it slightly. I brought two mannequin heads rather than one, I felt that one wouldn’t signify an environment necessarily. I now want to re-stage a scene from the Stanford experiment. Not any scene in particular just the relationship between guard and prisoner; and in particular the relationship between the lead guard nicknamed ‘John Wayne’ after is masculine, no nonsense attitude.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

He was the cruelest guard, the dominant guard, the guard who demanded the most respect. His harshest treatment was delivered to the prisoner below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I am considering more whether it is a case of picking on the weakest, this prisoners looks particularly fragile, and ‘John Wayne’ vindictively isolated this prisoners as a way to intimidate the others and prevent any further rebellions.

I want to replicate their physical identities with these two mannequin heads I have brought. They are the cheapest option and only polystyrene heads, I feel this may give greater power to the supposed waxwork and in other words the ‘environment which is transforming these good individuals.

Here are the heads below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The mannequin heads are identical, this is what I wanted as I want the guard and prisoner to be on the same level in some sense. As well as this it gives me the opportunity to paint upon this. I understand that their features wont be physically identical due to the generic formation of the features, but I do what to get some resemblance to with the characters. I may even use props. In the Stanford experiment documentary they suggested how the uniform, particularly the guards uniform created a mask to the weakest of human emotions. Perhaps I could involve the glasses.

I am leaning towards using candle wax, I feel it would be the most accessible substance, however I need to experiment more with this.

Leave a Reply

