The power of social conformity

This is a film that is based loosely on the Stanford experiment. Another movie trailer I came across was Compliance, which is related closely to a true case in which these human traits of conforming happen again to quite a disturbing degree.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WdONydDX44I

This trailer focuses much more on the oddity of the case.

This is a documentary of the actual case, which is shocking. When considering this case, the Stanford experiment and the Stanley Milgram study I begin to consider would I conform under authority if I was placed in a situation like this and I immediately would say no but under the pressure I can’t be entirely sure.

This study from Solomon Asch goes further to suggest the social strains of conformity, and how very few of us rebel under the eyes of our peers.

 

Leave a Reply

