Trip to the Tate- ‘Still have colour in its veins as we have blood under our winter-white skin.’

The gallery visit that inspired me the most was my trip to the Tate Modern in Mid September, I felt that I needed to search further afield and find something that would really challenge me.  A painting that interested was ‘ A Mi-Voix’ (1958) by Dorothea Tanning, it wasn’t so much the actual painting that interested me but the quote that accompanied it.

“I just wanted to paint a white and grey picture that would still have colour in its veins as we have blood under our winter-white skin.”

This quote fascinated me, the under body of a painting always makes me curious and this suggestion of likening paint to our inner function provides some sort of inspiration for me. I want to depict something that is shielded in reality.

Image

Much like the Cockrill piece there is definitely something happening underneath the surface.

Leave a Reply

