Maurice Cockrill- what is the purpose of covering up?

My next step was to visit the National Cardiff museum, looking back I don’t feel I explored this enough. A piece of art that stuck out to me was the Maurice Cockrill piece, ‘Well You Needn’t'(2008). This painting intrigued me because the painting acts as a cover up in a sense for the true painting. This unflattering pink layering is a nuisance to be me, that is what I feel drew it to me, it is almost as if the inritating pink colour acts as an obstruction.

well-you-neednt---maurice-cockrill

 

I find it interesting how so much of society is a cover up, is covering up a part of human nature?

Leave a Reply

